Its Raksha Bandhan …..

…… and for the first time in a very long I havent tied a Rakhi to Scooby. Called him early in the day wished him and told him I have his Rakhi with me and that I will give it to him on Saturday when I see him.

I am from Bangalore and though Raksha Bandhan is not a festival celebrated in the southern part of India its never stopped me from celebrating this day with my brother. Afterall its supposed to symbolise a sister’s love and prayers for her brother’s well-being, and the brother’s lifelong vow to protect her …….. these feelings are universal.

I remember as a kid (I might have been 8 years old) going to my parents and telling them that I need to go to the store to buy a Rakhi for Scooby …… My mom for some reason agreed (normally convincing her is equivalent to pushing a hill)…I got a huuuge one with Golden paper and red thread 😀 we have celebrated this festival ever since.

Scooby hates traditional looking Rakhi’s… so its a task for me to try and find innovative Rakhi’s for him….. EVERY YEAR…… I especially loved the one I found 3 years ago, it had a Shankh (Counch Shell) on a petal on a leaf ….. and the size of it was 10p coin…. he loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

