What a different kind of morning today’s sunrise brought with it

I had become accustomed to waking up to misty mornings and sounds that can only be heard while you live in the middle of a coffee plantation. I miss sipping my morning cuppa standing on the porch of my grandfathers 100 year old home – breathing in the air perfumed by the coffee , pepper, cardamom and vanilla plants growing as far as the eyes can see, chatting with my cousins until lovely smells from the kitchen producing akki ottis and paaputtu with earthy curries and chutneys beckoned us back inside.

I am not going to continue writing since judging by my post this far I seem to be wallowing in vacation grief and am completely out of sorts and feeling terribly blue. Leaving you with a few pictures from my family holiday in Coorg.

IMG_20150424_065439

The backyard shrouded in mist.

IMG_20150424_175019

Scooby and I, along with our cousins went for walks in the evening when the rains let up. He just could not stop complaining that its impossible for me to walk in a straight line and I resemble a puppy who has to sniff and express interest in every plant, every flower and every nook and corner 😉  …. Cant say I can argue with him about that.

IMG-20150502-WA002

IMG-20150430-WA004

Late bloomers on a coffee plant. If you look closely, the coffee beans have started sprouting along the rest of the branch.

IMG-20150502-WA003

Walked up the rickety wooden steps to take pictures of the attic. Oh what memories this place holds from my childhood.

IMG_20150427_091226

Played games that were as silly as possible – just because it was fun 😉 . One night 9 of us played Taboo till 1 in the morning.

IMG_20150424_074616

Intriguing flowers that bloom facing downwards which I tried photographing the regular way – but then figured that they look that much more beautiful because they were facing downwards.

IMG-20150430-WA008

The view from Talacauvery on a windy afternoon which seemed to announce the change in seasons – the monsoons seem to have arrived early this year.

As I’ve grown older, I seem have perfected the art of making a quick dash to Coorg only to attend family functions or a wedding before making a hasty 270 kilometre journey back to Bangalore, but this time around I spent 2 weeks in the delightful company of cousins and family in a land untouched by the onslaught of modernisation and without the constant interference of cellphone or internet connection – I almost feel like I’ve been to a rehab for cell-phone addiction.

IMG_20150427_133454

I spent the first day looking at my phone about a 100 times hoping that that there would be cellphone service, but just 24 hours later – the dread turned to relief and I completely forgot that I owned a phone only remembering its existence when I wanted to take pictures 😉

Its almost noon and I must stop feeling so blue.

Leave a Reply

