Have you randomly seen your past self reflected in other people? 

I have in the past 24 hours seen my past self reflected multiple times.

  • A girl on a bike at a traffic light stopping under the shade of a tree on a very hot summer day, even though she is a few meters away from the signal. A brief respite from the scorching heat also looks welcome.
  • A tired but happy girl managing the desk and closing the accounts for the day at a salon, well past the time most of her colleagues have left.
  • Two summery kurta-patiala clad happy teenage girls wearing big jhumkas and zipping through my neighbourhood on a bike while singing the latest number by the Chainsmokers, loudly and without a care in the world.
  • A very confused junior associate who looks petrified at the extent of cluelessness she’s having to deal with at work.

Life, I realise has brought me such a long distance from where I started that there are times I fail to even recognise myself. I remember writing in this blog a few years ago that the 22 year old me would be in awe for days if she met the present day version. And on a day I have spent saying goodbye to so many people and things that I have grown to admire and get ready to flip a page, I feel awfully aware that I have been in this place before. The pause before a brand new beginning filled with a complete blank page.

It’s time to start writing I guess.

Leave a Reply

